The spirit prevails

It’s quite understandable why many players do not want to play anyone rated much lower than themselves. It’s high-risk. Rate-wise speaking, the game will drag you down big time if you lose, and give you almost nothing if you win. Sometimes, if the rate-gap between both player is really big (more than five hundreds or, say, a thousand or so), it could still cost you some rate points even if you didn’t lose the game.

Contrariwise, not all players like to play anyone rated much higher than themselves. Well, they have their reasons.

But surely a game is not just about rating (or even winning or losing). So thankfully, there are other kind of players like this Jo something here, for example. This player just saw me in the seek bar, accepted my challenge, and marauded me. Fair and square. Nice going, Jo. šŸ™‚

[Note: I happened to be Red, in all of the games here]

spiritprevail - 600 lost_cropped

Or this following one. I won the game alright. But clearly it was a close one (and says who it wasn’t sweaty?). And make sure you didn’t overlook the rating gap between the two players. I can’t help but like the spirit of this opponent of mine. šŸ˜Ž

spiritprevail - brave_heart_cropped

Really, even a lost one can feel good. Especially the one when our opponent did play well and we knew we’ve thrown all we’ve got. Like this one below.

spiritprevail - cham_censored

My opponent powerfully opened the game with a bingo. And make a couple of others later. But I tagged along. Somehow, this three-time-bingoer-2000-something-rated player just couldn’t shrug me off. I lost the game, but it made me feel good just the same.

So, I believe that what does really matter is the spirit of the game alright. But a win surely would come as a nice bonus. Here’s one.

spiritprevail - w1_censored

Or this (although the rating is exactly the same than the one before, it’s just a coincidence, these two Blues were different players). I didn’t just win, here. I shrugged this player off. šŸ˜‰

spiritprevail - (rm)_censored

I find it exciting to play a much higher-rated player every now and then. And I feel the same when playing a much lower one from time to time (believe me, it was such a thrill when it’s already middle-game and you found it was not you who had the upper hand). Have fun!

*****

Leave a Reply

